Delicious, Super Easy and Healthy(!) Overnight Waffles

This recipe was a great surprise to us, not only because it worked wonderfully, but because it sustained us better than even our healthiest waffle and pancake recipe made from flour and cooked whole grains.  We are normally more of a beans and greens for breakfast kind of family, reserving things like waffles and pancakes for mid-morning (or afternoon) snacks, but I think we’ll be able to slip these in for breakfast once in a while.  These waffles are made from soaked millet and buckwheat and, as long as you remember to soak the grains the night before, come together in just a couple minutes. 

This recipe comes from The Splendid Grain, by Rececca Wood.  If you are new to whole grains, or if you are not, this is a fabulous book with sections on a variety of whole grains.  Some are common, some may be totally new to you.  Each section provides interesting background on the grain, then tells you what you need to know and provides plenty of delicious ways to eat it.  I did make several changes to this recipe, such as using ground flaxseed instead of the egg, adding a bit of agave, using water instead of milk, and replacing butter with unrefined coconut oil.  I also simplified the preparation of the grains a bit. 

By the way, I won’t always post recipes from cookbooks.  When I’m busy, as I have been, I can get in a cooking rut and getting my cookbooks out is a great way to get reinspired.  That is where I am right now…plus, I want you to know about all the great cookbooks out there. 

Overnight Millet, Buckwheat, and Coconut Waffles, adapted from The Spendid Grain

  • 1 cup millet
  • 1 cup raw buckwheat (not kasha; it’s roasted)
  • 2 1/4  cups water (or any type of milk or buttermilk)
  • 2 Tablespoons ground flaxseed (could also use 1 egg)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 3 Tablespoons unrefined coconut oil, melted (could also use butter or other oil)
  • 2-3 tablespoons agave, or the sweetener of your choice
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated orange zest, optional
  • 1/4 teaspoon coriander or nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt

 

  • a handful of chopped pecans or other nuts, optional
  • 1/4-1/2 cup applesauce, optional

Put the millet and buckwheat in a colander and rinse.  Transfer to a bowl, cover with spring or filtered water, and leave overnight.  In the morning, put the soaked grains and their water*, plus all of the other ingredients except the nuts and applesauce in your blender and process until smooth.  You can process the nuts to make a smooth batter, or fold them in for texture.  The applesauce should also be folded in at the end.  Pour into the waffle maker and bake as you would any other waffles.  Even without the egg, I had no problem with sticking and they cooked beautifully.  We’ve had them multiple ways – with cooked pears and blueberries, with jelly and walnuts, with almond butter… a scoop of lightly sweetened plain yogurt would also be a nice addition. 

* You can certainly soak the grains in a acid, such as whey, if you wish.  I tend to like to pour off the soaking water and use fresh water for cooking.  If you want to do this, you’ll need to use a bit less water to accomodate absorbtion.  To know how much, just put a colander on top of a measuring cup, and drain the grains into the colander, letting the water go into the measuring cup.  Take note of the amount of water, discard it, and replace with fresh water.  Rinse the grains and proceed as above.

3 Comments »

  1. Cindy said

    I will try everything and anything you make so of course the day after I read this.. I made it for breakfast and YUM! I’ve had buckwheat sitting in my pantry for way too long with no clue what to do with it (it’s kind of stinky so i stayed away) but this was awesome. I do have to say that these aren’t tasting as moist on day 3 or 4 so I’ll have to figure out what to add so that they store better in the fridge. Any suggestions? I also got the Rebecca’s cookbook on amazon (love the deals) and it is now my bedtime reading.

    I love that you are doing this blog in all your free time 🙂 I also got your slow cooker (I had crock pot envy when I was there) and it’s fantastic!! Love the size, I love programming it and I love doubling recipes to save cooking time.

    You are a genius in the kitchen!!!

    • adaba said

      Thanks:) I’m glad you finally made use of the buckwheat! I’ve been using soaked grains as a base for lots of things lately and buckwheat is usually one of them, so there will be more to come The waffles are definitely better the day they are made, but a few options for keeping them moist for later in the week…I’m curious if you made them with flax or egg; the flax version is likely to dry out a bit quicker.
      *Instead of cooking them right away, just make the batter and keep it in the fridge, then make the waffles when you want them. It should be fine for a few days.
      *warm them up – you may well have done this and still found them a bit dry, but anytime a baked good sits for a few days on the counter or goes into the fridge, it dries out a little. Warming in the toaster oven, oven, toaster, etc. makes a big difference.
      *Replace the agave with pureed dates or banana, or add some pumpkin, sweet potato, applesauce, etc, etc. in addition to the agave. Start with a quarter to half cup to be sure they don’t get too moist to cook correctly and go from there. You could also try replacing the agave with coconut sugar, if it’s available, or date sugar.
      *If you use eggs, add an extra egg or egg yolk

      I’ll experiment with them this week and let you know what I come up with.

      I am so happy to be doing this blog; I’ve been wanting to for a long time. And, I’m glad you love your slow cooker! Mine is going right now…

  2. My 15 year old daughter made these this morning for our family. They were great – crunchy and naturally sweet. It was so nice to have a waffle breakfast without all the weightiness of wheat. Thank you for the excellent recipe.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

