Roasted Leeks

Busy weeks seem to be the norm these days for me and just about everyone I know.  So, of course we all need to find ways to eat well and to find the space to stop and enjoy our food, both the preparation and the eating.  Simplicity is, of course, the key.  And, yay for us, because simple food is good! 

This is so easy that I can barely call it a recipe, but I can see it adding an extra dimension to so many dishes.  And that’s what we need – foods that give us the biggest payback for the smallest effort.  And, sometimes having even a delicious garnish or condiment as a starting point is enough to open up a whole new world of ideas.   

We went to a potluck at my son’s school last night and I had to throw something together at the last minute with what I had in the house.  I just made a really simple dish, not unlike the lentil dish I posted several weeks ago, but I wanted to add a bit of variety, so I decided to roast some leeks and stir them into the dish at the end.  I already had the oven on anyway, because I was baking something else for a friend.  When I tasted a little handful hot off the tray, I suddenly had inspiration for so many dishes that would benefit from the addition of these deliciously mild, crunchy and tasty leeks.  Check out some of my ideas, but I’m sure you’ll come up with some great ones on your own, as well! 

Roasted Leeks

  • leeks
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees or, better yet, just throw these in when you are baking or roasting something else.  Trim the leeks at stem end and where the green part begins.  Cut in half lengthwise and rinse each layer to remove the large amount of dirt that is usually sandwiched between the first several layers.  Slice the leeks crosswise.  Put them on a tray and drizzle with olive oil; you want them to be coated, but not swimming in the oil.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and bake for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until they are browned, but not burned.   

I stirred them into some French lentils that had been cooked with garlic, kale, and parsley then drizzed some lemon juice over the whole thing.  I can also see them being delicious when used in any of the following ways:

  • topping a roasted vegetable salad, or, really, any salad
  • topping sauteed green beans with sliced almonds
  • stirred into any pasta or grain dish
  • on pizza; you could roast them right on top of the pizza while it bakes
  • stirred into any bean dish or bean salad, especially great for those who don’t like the crunch or the bite of onions in beans
  • with roasted chickpeas; stir them in when the chickpeas are just starting to brown
  • In an omelette or fritatta
  • In bean or veggie burgers
2 Comments »

  1. holly Craychee said

    actually i just noticed all the recipes here – duh! is the sprouted lemon poppyseed the brown moist cake i sampled – that was great.
    maybe a girls night group cooking party – that might be fun and lucrative for you? just an idea for the future….. i will try the recipes at home – im excited to weed out the white flour at some point!!

  2. […] add some simple deliciousness to the basic salad, garnish with roasted leeks and crispy […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

