Quinoa Vegetable Salad

So, I have to confess….I love peas.  And for most of the year, that means frozen peas.  As a proponent of local, seasonal food, I am embarrassed to say that I buy them all year round.  Every once in a while, I realize it’s ridiculous and I stop buying them, then I miss them and I buy them again.  But, I love them even that much more when they are in season and I can eat them to my heart’s content with the knowledge that they were grown by one of my favorite local farms instead of by who knows whom and shipped in a plastic bag to my local store. 

One of my favorite ways to eat fresh peas is simply lightly sauteed and tossed with cooked quinoa, broccoli, and raw shredded  carrots, then dressed with miso-mustard sauce…this salad is equally delicious with fresh, raw sugar snap peas. 

Serves one…embellish and multiply as desired!

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • sea salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1/3 cup shelled peas
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/4 cup shredded carrots
  • 2 Tablespoons miso-mustard sauce

Heat a small pan over medium heat, add olive oil, a pinch of salt, and a little water.  Add chopped broccoli, cover, and let steam until just tender.  Add peas and saute for about a minute, until lightly cooked.  Pour into a serving bowl, add quinoa and carrots, then stir in miso-mustard sauce.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

