Delicious Soaked Oatmeal

Oh, how I miss Mexico!  I miss my chair on the beach.  I miss my bed with the view of the ocean.  I miss the delicious mango and pineapple, fruits I just can’t bear to buy here  in Boulder.  I miss the days filled with lounging, reading and swimming in the ocean.  Frankly, I think I just miss vacation.  But, alas, we cannot be on vacation all the time, or we would start needing vacations from our vacation! 

Anyway, partly because of that and partly because we have now entered true Spring weather (yippee!), I’m finding myself in a bit of a conundrum with food.  While I”m usually a big veggies for breakfast eater, that just isn’t working for me right now and, in fact, I don’t wake up wanting much of anything except fresh mango:)  This oatmeal has saved me from being a breakfast skipper, which also doesn’t work for me in the long run.  It is sweetened with dates and I like to add coconut butter and nuts to keep it balanced, as well as plenty of cinnamon, which also helps to regulate blood sugar.  I often add frozen blueberries as well, for an extra antioxidant kick.  Experiment with the number of dates you like to use.  Dates are very sweet, but they are whole foods, loaded with fiber and potassium among other things, so I believe they are an excellent choice if you want to add a little sweetness (in moderation, of course).  

This recipe makes enough for 4 people.  I sometimes make extra oatmeal without the coconut butter or blueberries, then reheat it with some extra water and those or other additions when I need a quick breakfast or snack during a busy week.  For a fun weekend breakfast, you can set up a little oatmeal bar with a variety of nuts and fruits, then allow each person to come up with their own creation.    If you aren’t a sweet breakfast eater, this is also a nice mid-afternoon snack. 

  • 1 cup gluten free steel cut oats
  • water for soaking
  • 2 cups water for cooking
  • 2-4 medium-sized dates, pitted and chopped
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1-2 Tablespoons raw coconut butter
  • Frozen blueberries (or the fruit of your choice)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • chopped almonds (or the nut of your choice)
  • more cinnamon to sprinkle over individual bowls
  • Other options for toppings: sliced bananas, chopped figs (use lesser amount of dates), fresh fruit (when it FINALLY comes in season), other frozen fruits, etc, etc, or just enjoy it plain.

Pour the oats into a bowl large enough to fill with enough water to cover the oats by at least an inch.  Leave overnight.  When you are ready to cook the oats, pour them into a strainer and rinse and drain them.  Pour the drained oats into a medium-sized saucepan and add 2 cups water, chopped dates, and sea salt.  Bring to a boil, then cover pot and remove from heat and let sit for about 15-20 minutes, or until the water is absorbed.  Alternatively, you can keep them simmering on low, but I find that they often boil over and/or stick to the pan and don’t really cook that much faster, all the while using more energy.  Once the oats are cooked, stir in the coconut butter, frozen blueberries, and cinnamon and cover to allow the coconut butter to melt into the oatmeal and the blueberries to heat up.  Give it another stir and serve with chopped nuts and additional cinnamon.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

