Five-Spice Carrot Cashew Butter

THIS is the beauty of sharing food with our communities!  I never would have tried this recipe had a friend and fellow food-lover not brought me a little sampling of this delicious spread.  I wouldn’t have tried it because, other than in soup, I am not a huge fan of cooked carrots.  I also had to get rid of my five spice powder because I couldn’t stand smelling it everytime I opened my spice cabinet.  Despite these two seemingly major hurdles, I absolutely loved this spread.  My friend had paired it up with a millet bread that I make; again, a combo I wouldn’t have gravitated toward on my own, but it was fabulous.  It had all the cakey, creamy satisfaction of cake with frosting, without the cloying sweetness.  It would also be great on any bread, crackers, etc.  I am so looking forward to buying fresh carrots from my local farmers, as I know I’ll be making this throughout the Summer.  I think I’ll just buy my five-spice powder a quarter teaspoon at a time:)

This recipe is from the Real Food Daily Cookbook, which is written by Ann Gentry, the owner of Real Food Daily restaurants in California.  All of the recipes in the cookbook are vegan and, even if they aren’t your style for one reason or another, there are enough delicious-sounding condiments and sauces and such that it’s worth your time just for the inspiration it might provide for your own creations. 

  • 1 Tablespoon oil (recipe recommends canola, but I will use olive oil)
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled and chopped (I would just wash them)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 2 Tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 Tablespoon yellow miso (check ingredients if you need it to be gluten free)
  • 1/4 teaspoon five-spice powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Heat the oil in a large, heavy saucepan over medium heat.  Add the carrots and onion and saute until the onion is translucent, about 10 minutes.  Add the water, cover, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the carrots are very tender, about 10 minutes.  Uncover and simmer until the liquid has absorbed, about 10 minutes, then remove from the heat and cool completely. 

Transfer the cooled carrot mixture to a food processor.  Add the cashews, maple syrup, miso, five-spice powder, and salt.  Blend until smooth and creamy, about 5 minutes.  Transfer the spread to a small bowl.  Serve cold or at room temperature.  Enjoy! 

 

1 Comment »

  1. […] Five Spice Carrot Cashew Butter with hearty bread Winter Squash Soup French Lentil Patewith Crackers< […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

