Pickled Red Onions

I used to dislike onions intensely, especially crunchy onions.  My family waited many times outside the, ahem, MacDonald’s drive through, for my burger with no onions until finally they started making me get it with onions and pick them off – ick on many counts!  Somehow, it’s all turned around and I can only attribute that to this recipe.  For some reason, I am obsessed with these.  I literally eat them out of the jar and my husband looks at me like I am crazy.  I also eat them on green salads, bean salads, veggie burgers, bean dips, and sandwiches.  Although the recipe just calls for onions, I often add radishes, cucumbers, kohlrabi, etc.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I do! 

  • 4 medium-sized red onions
  • a big pot or kettle of boiling water
  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar (preferably raw and unfiltered)
  • 2-3 Tablespoons coconut sugar (use less if replacing with another sweetener)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon peppercorns, in a tea ball or tied in cheesecloth*
*I put the pepper in a tea ball so I can easily remove it once its flavor is infused into the pickles.  Cheesecloth or something like it would work too – there is nothing worse that biting into a whole peppercorn, blech. 

In a medium-large bowl, mix the vinegar, water, coconut sugar, and salt until the sugar is dissolved.  Plop in the pepper.  Peel the onions and slice them as thinly as you can.  Put them into a large colander and give them a few shakes to break up the layers.  Pour the boiling water over them slowly, so they begin to wilt a bit.  Put the onions into the bowl and immerse in the vinegar mixture.  If you want to add other raw vegetables, throw them in too; no need to wilt them.  If they aren’t immersed, weigh them down with a plate so they can soak up the flavor.  Leave them on the counter for a few hours, then transfer to a mason jar or other sealed container and store in the fridge.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

