Curried Winter Squash Cubes

These flavorful little squash cubes are one of my new favorites.  When I make them, I have to work hard to make sure I don’t scarf them all down before I have a chance to use them as a colorful addition to whatever soup, salad, or grain dish I’m making.  I generally choose delicata or buttercup squash for roasting, but, those don’t keep as long into the winter as some other varieties like butternut and acorn squash, so I’ve been using butternut squash with great results and I’m sure they would work with any variety.  As I said, they are a delicious snack on their own, but I’ve also been adding them, along with sauteed greens and quinoa to a yummy stew I’ve been making, and they make a wonderful addition to a roasted vegetable salad.  They do take a while to cook, so maybe get some other veggies for roasting, or stick them in the oven while you are baking something else.  It’s kind of a non-recipe, since I’m not providing amounts, but I wanted to post it just in case you wouldn’t otherwise think of it and would therefore miss out on this delicious and nutritious snack/accompaniment!

  • 1 large butternut (or other) squash, seeded and cubed
  • olive oil
  • turmeric
  • curry powder
  • salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  (If you are putting these in with something else, they are fine anywhere from 350-400 degrees).  Place the squash cubes in one layer (or close) on a large ovenproof skillet or tray with sides.  Pour enough olive oil to coat the cubes generously, then sprinkle with turmeric and curry powder.  Amounts are totally up to your taste, but don’t be too skimpy.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and give them a stir to evenly coat with oil and seasonings.  Put the cubes in the oven and bake them undisturbed until they are very soft and beginning to brown.  You can take them out at this point, or if you are turning the oven off, leave them in with the door open if you like them a little chewier.  Enjoy!

2 Comments »

  1. […] another version.  It’s simple, with just parsley cooked in, but I like to garnish it with Curried Winter squash cubes and sautéed greens.  It’s not traditional kitchari, but it’s a delicious […]

  2. […] another version.  It’s simple, with just parsley cooked in, but I like to garnish it with Curried Winter squash cubes and sautéed greens.  It’s not traditional kitchari, but it’s a delicious […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

