Carrot-Ginger Dressing

I am doing a Spring cleanse and, even though I eat well normally, I’m having to come up with some new ideas and change some habits.  Normally, I saute or roast my veggies in olive oil and, with a little salt, that makes me really happy.  This cleanse requires that only olive oil or flax oils are used, which is fine, but they have to be raw.  Makes perfect sense, as oils are much healthier uncooked and, in fact, flax oil should not be cooked under any circumstances.  But, it’s going to require a change in my vegetable-cooking routine.  Fortunately, great things come from changes in routine, even if they are hard.  If we hadn’t taken gluten out of Ethan’s diet (and, by extension, mine), we may not have discovered yummy things like popped amaranth, teff, and sprouted buckwheat and we probably wouldn’t have been as creative with quinoa and millet either.  In fact, I probably wouldn’t have ever started my business and I am so glad that I did.

So, anyway, I worried that I would get a little bored with plain steamed vegetables for seven days.  Don’t get me wrong, steamed vegetables are delicious, but, just the same, I worried about it.  The perfect solution – sauces.  This one is quite simple and is delicious served over quinoa, steamed cauliflower, and chard with some chopped almonds on top.  It would also make a nice salad dressing.  You can add herbs or spices if you wish, or just enjoy it as it is.  This recipe makes 1/2-1 cup, depending on the amount of water used.

  • 2 medium carrots, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2-3 teaspoons grated ginger, or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon chopped shallot, optional
  • 1-2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon or lime juice
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • water, as needed
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Place all ingredients in a blender and puree until very smooth, adding water as needed to process and to get the consistency you want.  Taste and adjust seasonings.  Drizzle over cooked grains and steamed vegetables, over a green salad, or whatever you wish.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

