Raw Vegetable Soup

I did a cleanse a couple of months ago and one part of it was starting the morning with freshly made vegetable juice before breakfast.  The idea of juicing hadn’t appealed to me before this, because juice is not a whole food and I did not like the idea of all of the pulp going to waste.  The more I learn about it, though, the more I am intrigued by this idea of getting a whole bunch of concentrated vitamins into our bodies first thing in the morning and I actually find it quite powerful.  It’s also easy on the digestion first thing in the morning, because your body doesn’t really have to do any work to assimilate it.  Of course, I do not let the pulp go to waste.  I use it to make dehydrated crackers, I cook it into veggie pancakes, or I add it to breads, vegetable sautes, etc.

A couple days ago, I had to head out to my kitchen very early and I don’t have a juicer there.  It was too early to turn mine on before I left, as my whole family had been with me in the kitchen the night before until later than is prudent and I really wanted them to be able to sleep in.  So, I had to come up with an alternative that would provide all those good vitamins and minerals to start the day, but could be made without a juicer.  Fortunately, with the Summer produce in full force, my vegetable drawers were well-stocked, so I grabbed a few things and headed out.  In this case, I brought carrots, tomatoes, cucumber, avocado and fennel, plus some ginger and a lemon.  But, the options for this kind of soup are really endless – zucchini, cabbage, bell peppers, and romaine lettuce would all be good, and of course you can’t go wrong with fresh herbs.

This will make 2 servings – you can have it for breakfast and lunch or you can share it with someone you love.

  • 5 medium carrots
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 stalk fennel, or more to taste, reserve the greens for garnish
  • 1/2 inch of fresh ginger, more or less as you like
  • 1 small ripe avocado
  • juice from 1/2 lemon or lime
  • salt, to taste

Place the carrots, tomatoes, cucumber, fennel, and ginger in the blender and process until smooth.  Add the avocado and continue to blend.  Add the citrus juice and a generous pinch of salt, then taste and adjust as needed.  Garnish with the green, wispy fennel and serve cold.  Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. Cindy said

    Hmm. Do you think it would work without fennel or would you substitute leeks instead for a kick. Did the boys eat this??

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

