Hot Spiced Cashew-Coconut Milk

I was recently asked by a friend to make biscotti for a memorial service for her father.  Of course, I was more than happy to do that for her.  The only problem was that I had never had biscotti, let alone made it, let alone made it vegan and gluten free and with a reasonable amount of sweetener.  I have certainly seen biscotti here and there on periodic visits to coffee shops, but my impression was that it was a dry, maybe slightly bland cookie that one dips in coffee, which I do not drink.  Well, how wrong I was!  While I still have not tasted a traditional biscotti, I do have a new appreciation for something I am sure is delicious, because I found the alternative sprouted grain, lightly sweet version to be quite yummy.  Of course, once I had a few biscotti and the Fall weather started to set in, I wanted to join the crowd and have something to dip it in.  Not coffee.  No.  Yuck.  I know you all probably love it, but my parents both drank multiple cups of black coffee per day when I was growing up (still do, as a matter of fact).  Much like my first drag on a cigarette at age 8ish (disgusting to let an 8 year old try a cigarette, but it sure did do the trick), my first taste of black coffee completely dispelled any thoughts I ever had of becoming a coffee drinker.  For my personal biscotti-dipping pleasure, I visualized a creamy, hot, spicy and totally satisfying drink.  Coconut came to mind.  And cashews, ginger, cardamom…here is the recipe.  Give it a try and see what you think!  This recipe makes enough for two, because you should really invite a friend over to enjoy it with you.

  • 2 cups coconut milk (I use reconstituted creamed coconut – from Let’s Do Organic)
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon chia seeds, optional*
  • 1 slice of fresh ginger, according to taste (or 1/2 teaspoon dried ginger)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cardamom
  • 1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds, optional
  • 2 dashes of nutmeg
  • one dash of cloves
  • one dash cayenne pepper, optional
  • coconut sugar, yacon sugar, maple syrup, or honey to taste, or you could blend a date with the drink – all optional

*chia seeds will thicken up your drink so it’s more creamy.  My intuition told me this drink would benefit from them, but I was skeptical, but then pleasantly surprised.  They created a nice texture, not a weird one as I was sort of expecting.  If you add them then let the drink sit, you may need to add a bit of hot water to thin it down.

Put it all in a blender and blend on high until smooth and creamy.  I use a Vitamix and don’t find there is any need to strain, but it’s possible you’ll need to strain it if your blender can’t quite get it perfectly smooth.  If you have to strain it, throw the pulp in the freezer and put it in cookies or gingerbread or whatever you bake next.  If you aren’t a baker, you could add it to hot cereal too.  Gently warm your drink in a pot on the stove.  Taste; you might not need any sweetener, as the coconut and cashew milk, plus the spices are sweet on their own.  If you’d like, add just a bit of something sweet.   Enjoy on its own or with a special dipping treat!

3 Comments »

  1. Tiphaine said

    Julia, do you use whole cardamom seeds? Or powder? Or the whole Cardamom pod? or in what configuration?

    • adaba said

      Hi Tiphaine! I use cardamom powder, because that’s what I have on hand. I suppose if I had the cardamom pods, I’d use those – maybe 2-3 pods…

  2. Kari said

    This looks wonderful as well. Would you be willing to share the biscotti recipe at some point. 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

