Sprouted Lemon Poppyseed Bread

I’ve been having lots of fun experimenting with sprouting.  I had a few requests last Summer at the Farmers’ Market for sprouted/soaked products.  Since I like to accommodate each and every one of the food preferences that come my way, I wanted to oblige.  In my experiments this Winter, I have been pretty excited to find out that I can convert several of my recipes to soaked, whole grain, rather than flour-based, recipes.  Since I also promised a recipe for that lemon zest you put aside after making the miso-mustard sauce recipe, here you go…and, by the way, if you would like to see a video version, you can watch it here: http://www.minimalistmenu.com/node/51

Before I start the recipe, though, don’t be overwhelmed by the prospect of sprouting quinoa, please.  I am a total sprouting novice and it’s super simple.  Directions are included in the recipe.  Seriously, it’s really simple.  You do have to plan a day in advance if you don’t already have sprouted quinoa, but once you realize how easy it is, you’ll just have it ready all the time:)

You can adjust the amount or type of sweetener to your taste.  You can also fold in berries or other fruit.

  • 1 cup quinoa, plus filtered water for soaking
  • 1/2 cup water, or more as necessary
  • 1 Tablespoon flax seeds or chia seeds
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2-3 teaspoons grated lemon rind (don’t leave this out – it’s not optional!!  Turn it into a different flavor if you don’t have lemon rind!!!)
  • 2 pitted dates
  • 1/3 cup sweetener, coconut sugar, coconut nectar, maple syrup, etc. (add 2 additional Tablespoons for a slightly sweeter bread)
  • 2 Tablespoons oil (I use olive or coconut)
  • 2 teaspoons lemon extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

 

  • 2 Tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar

Put the quinoa in a small bowl, cover with filtered water and leave soaking for 2-4 hours to saturate. Drain into a mesh strainer, rinse, and leave (over a bowl to catch the dripping water) for 8-12 hours. If possible, stir around after 4 hours to rotate as the bottom layers will get warmer and sprout more quickly. The speed of the sprouting process depends on the root temperature (warm=faster, cool=slower); ideally you want the seeds to have a tail about 1/4 the size of the seed. If it hasn’t sprouted yet, or you like the sprouts longer, rinse with filtered water, drain, and leave a little longer.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line muffin tins. place all ingredients up to poppy seeds in a blender and process until smooth.  Fold in poppy seeds, baking powder and baking soda. Fold in applesauce and vinegar. Pour into muffin prepared muffin pan. Bake for about 15 minutes.

3 Comments »

  1. […] recipes on my blog use soaked and/or sprouted grains; Sprouted Lemon Poppyseed Bread is a fun […]

  2. LC said

    Hi Julia,
    I made this as a lemon blueberry loaf (altering a bit to suit our sensitivities). I have to say it was very easy and soooo gooood! Such a nice moist, spongy texture. Next I’m going to try Cranberry Orange. I’m considering following that with chocolate, but not quite sure how to adjust for the cocoa.
    Thanks for the great resource on gluten free baking. I’m hoping to catch your next class.
    LC

    • adaba said

      Great! Glad it worked out! To make chocolate, you could just blend in chocolate chips; between the power of the vitamix and the heat it generates, I think it would incorporate them well. Or, you could add cocoa powder to your liking and just use more water to make sure you have a pourable texture. Enjoy!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment